1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need American Sources for URB Tone Wood

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Lostranger, Dec 13, 2017.

1. Lostranger

Lostranger

Jan 10, 2012
    Thanks to a hard drive crash a couple years back, I've lost contact info for a couple of North American sources for maple and spruce for building basses. I have nothing against European sourced woods, but the price seems excessive. I am an experienced luthier who wants to build one carved bass for myself. I'll consider all appropriate species. I believe that the last gentleman i corresponded with had big leaf maple and Engleman spruce.

I would appreciate any leads. None of my normal suppliers carry bass-sized material.

TIA

James in NC

2. 1st Bass

1st Bass

May 26, 2005
    Forest Grove, OR
    Tepper Tonewoods in Shady Cove, Oregon. John Tepper, proprietor.

3. Lostranger

Lostranger

Jan 10, 2012
    Thanks, Chet. I'll make contact.

4. Lostranger

Lostranger

Jan 10, 2012
    Just checked Tepper's web site and asked for photos. Prices seem excessive, but I will reserve judgment until I know more.

5. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Supporting Member

Sep 30, 2007
    asheville, nc
    So you have not yet made a bass and already you are balking at the prices for tonewoods?????

I order to find one good clear bass top, tonewood supppliers have to go through 1000s of potential ones just to find something that large and that clear.