1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need amp fast.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by milkman-27, May 21, 2012.

1. milkman-27

milkman-27

Jul 4, 2009
    I have been playing bass for a while now, but for the past several years just at home as a hobby, so I eventually sized my bass amp down to something for just the home(15 watt practice amp). The other day I got a message from a drummer friend of mine who wants to start a new project and ask me if I would like to play bass, and I have to say that I was so stoked about the idea of playing in a band again that I said yes without thinking. My problem is that I am going to need to come up with a giggable amp by June with very limited funds. My budget is about $300-$400. He said that his idea is to play weddings, at a local winery that has live music, private parties, and some festivals. I have looked at the Fender Rumble 150 as it would be in my budget, but I am scared that it won't be enough. I really would hate to turn down an opportunity to start playing again, but I can't put my family in the hole financially to pursue it. So does anyone think that the 150 would be passable until I can afford a louder rig? And yes, I am going to go look at some used gear this weekend, but I am asking this on the assumption that I can't find anything.

2. I'd suggest going the used route. That being said, that rig will probably work fine. It has XLR out so you would be able to run into the PA system as well.

3. newbold

newbold

Sep 21, 2008
    Toronto
    'passable'?

You can find a $300 used rig somewhere that'll be fine for gigs.

4. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim Gold Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147
    Buy a real rig. Cheap out on the suits and cable TV service.

5. milkman-27