Need amp function not helpful.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by FunkSheep08, Dec 31, 2005.

1. In fact, it threw a wobbler when I tried and wouldn't let me do anything else on the site for a while. :p

So...I'm returning to the bass after 10+ years, owning equipment for the first time. Here's what I'm looking for:
    --a nice warm, round tone (no crunchy rock stuff)
    --smallish combo unit as a) I don't know enough about amps yet to fiddle with separate components and b) I'm in a dorm room and space is at a premium
    --want at least 100 watts and a 15" speaker as it has to reasonably compete with my home stereo system for balls (in order to save my silly pride!! :) And yes, in case you're wondering, I am the lone occupant of my dorm room!!)
    --has a good reputation for durability as I will probably be getting a used model
    --will run under $500 used as I'm a flat broke graduate student and need to rein in my rampant debt

Recommendations? Am I chasing the Holy Grail here?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
  2. Kelly Lee

Kelly Lee Yeah, I'm a guy! Supporting Member

Feb 17, 2004
    Marana, AZ, USA
    Check out a Peavey TNT115. Under $500 new and durable as any amp on the market. Unfortunately, it is heavy as he...... ;)

There is also the Fender Bassman 250/115, Fender Rumble 100, Ashdown MAGC115T, Ampeg BA115, Eden Nemesis N15S, etc.

There are a lot of combos that will fit your requirements out there. Get out to the stores and let your ears tell you which one.
  3. T-Funk

Jul 2, 2005
    The Carvin PB200-15, at a cost of $349.99, might be a good option for you. Below are the technical specs:

Technical Specs:
    • Power amp: 160 watts @ 8 ohms, 2 x 80 watts @ 4 ohms (two internal power amps bridged), typical THD less than .1%, Freq. Response: 20 to 20k Hz
    • Tuned bass reflex enclosure response: 41Hz to 16k Hz
    • 3 pre EQ FILTERS; +6dB @ 100 Hz, -7 dB @ 250 Hz or @ 500 dB and + 6dB @ 6k Hz