Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need Bass Practice Regimen, Please.

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by Bonafide, Oct 24, 2002.

1. Bonafide

Bonafide

Oct 15, 2002
    I am an Intermediate bassist in real need of a Bass practice regimen. I need to get my chops up to speed in the next 4 weeks and I truly need some good/smart workouts.
    Please ANYONE with any ides, information, books etc I would be forever grateful.

I do not want to practice scales so much as a combination / obstacle course for pracxtice so to speak. Everything from rock to funk. I play primarily with my fingers but am able with a pick.

Thank you very much.

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Often times practice is about quality not quantity. Setting up a good practice routine is essential. The material you practice should be musical as well as technical. Finally, having the right "space" is important. Let me elaborate.

Quality vs. Quantity - Effective practice can happen in as little as 1/2 hour per day. If the practice is quality practice. Start with warm up exercises. The warm up exercises should have some relationship to the work you are doing. For example if your working on diatonic harmony. Create a warm up exercise that plays through all the triads and 7th chords in a few different keys.

Try to make the practice musical. Play everything, including the warm up exercises in the most musical way that you can. In order to do this, rely on your technique and create the music from your head, heart and soul.

Start by playing some things that are familiar, perhaps some things you were working on the day before. As you get more involved, let your musical ideas take over and expand the scope of your practice in a musical sense.