1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need bassic help with settings (amp & eq)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CzarMike, Apr 25, 2002.

1. I need some help with some basic bass settings. I've been playing for about two years and still just can't find really good settings. I'm totally self taught (I learn everything from my role models on tape), so I don't have a mentor or someone to help out with basic problems like this. I can tell my band has gotten frustrated with my constant messing around with bass settings, so I need to clear this up once and for all.
    First I'll list my gear:
    • Fretless Jazz w/Dimarzio model J's
      Squier (yuck) P-bass w/EMG selects (sound nice)
      Marshall 3540 Head (400 watts, pretty cool)
      2 traynor 2x12 cabs
      Rogue Bass EQ Pedal
    The marshall has a nice EQ (5 band) and the rogue pedal can catch everything else.
    I guess I need to know which frequencies to boost and which not to. I don't play slap and like a more rounded, somewhat electric bass sound (my favorite tone ever is Ron Wood on Maggie May). Needless to say I've never achieved this, even though I have a great Jazz Bass. I play in a rock band, and it's hard to fit in with the rest of the band, it seems like the only thing that you can ever hear is just the complete bottom end.
    I'll make my question easier:
    1. Which frequencies work best on a fretless jazz?
    2. Which frequencies work best on a P Bass?

We'll go from there.

I really love this place, and I appreciate any help from real bass players that I can get.
    Mike

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    All of the following is personal opinion based on this thread and reading your band's biog. So please use or ignore what I am about to say (type).