Need double thumb advice

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by embellisher, Jan 21, 2001.

1. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I have been working on this technique, but I have a question.

I have very thick nails, but I am afraid that if I keep practicing that I am going to wear my thumbnail through, which would be very painful!:eek: I cringe just thinking of the possible pain!

Can I really wear it through like I am worrying about?

Is there any way to keep this from happening, or is there anything that I can put on it to make it tougher?
  2. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Jeff -

I've been working on and using this technique for about 5-6 years now, and I've never had a problem like the one you're worried about. I'm not going to say it CAN'T happen, but I do consider it to be highly unlikely. I'm thinking if you wore through your thumbnail, you'd be really digging in a bit too hard on the upstroke of the DT technique. Hope that calms your fears.
  3. Lance Jaegan

Lance Jaegan

Dec 23, 2000
    You could stick superglue on it if you're really worried about that. It'd look a bit stupid though.
  4. maybe you can get some lee-press on nails, make sure you get a color that compliments your eyes :D

maybe you need to change your hand position a little, when i do it, it doesn't hit my thumb nail. i do it right on the fret board so my thumb doesn't go so deep. i used to do it behind the fret board and then i would hit my thumb nail on the upstroke but since i have been doing it right on the fret board it doesn't happen any more. it also seems to give me more control.

good luck
  5. Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    wot is double thumbing?