Need Flatwound Advice

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Flatwound, Sep 11, 2000.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    OK. I went back and read through all the posts here dealing with flatwound strings, and I have some unanswered questions. I have been using flatwounds recently, after using rounds for about 20 years. So far I have tried Fender, Thomastik-Infeld and Carvin (gag) flats. The TI's are good, of course, and I also liked the Fenders. I'm not as thrilled with the TI's as some, but they are definitely nice.

Here's my problem: my bass has a major dead spot at C and C# on the G string. Using lighter guage strings helps, so the Thomastiks, starting at .043 work better for me on this bass than the Fenders I was using which start at .050. Apparently this neck likes low tension. Ernie Ball and D'Addario make .040 - .095 flats, and Labella makes a .039 - .096 or something set. I really like the Fenders but they don't make anything that light. Just incidentally, I tried some roundwounds, too, and the dead spot was just as bad (at least), in case you wondered.

So, it looks like my choices are Ernie Ball Flatwounds, D'Addario Chromes, and LaBella "Perfectly Balanced" flatwounds. Oh, yeah, I think the Lakland Joe Osborns are available in .040 - .095, too. So given these four brands, and realizing that I liked the Fenders, what would you recommend?
  2. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    I don't use flatwounds, but GHS makes flatwounds too. Just trying to give you another option.
  3. Flatwound

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    Thanks, Slater. The reason I'm not looking at GHS strings is that they don't make really skinny flatwounds like the four brands I mention. So, to rephrase my question, has anyone used the following flats, and if so, can you compare them to Fender and Thomastik flats?

-LaBella "Perfectly Balanced" Flatwounds
    -Lakland Joe Osborn Signature