1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help 2 find the best bass guitar for rock :D

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MariaM, Mar 28, 2009.

1. MariaM

MariaM

Mar 28, 2009
    Norway
    Hi,
    I am norwegian,
    so sorry for my crappy english...

I hope someone can help me.

I am a bass player.
    I have been playing the bass for 5 years.
    Electric bass and double bass.

I have been playing pop and rock music.

Now I want to buy an extra electric bass guitar.
    I am playing in a new rockband (something between ac/dc and guns n´roses), so I want a bass with a rock sound.
    I play with plekter.

The bass I am looking for has a good rock sound.
    It is short scale or medium scale (I am short and I am a girl).

I have been looking at Fender jazzbass and Fender Precision.
    But I don´t know the difference between them.

I also love the look of the Rickenbacker, but does it have a rock-sound?

Any other recommendations?
    Ps-I don´t want Ibanez, I have one already.

I really hope someone can give my an advice or two.
    I wont shoot you if you say theese questions are stupid,
    I know I should know more about bass guitars after 5 years,
    but I have focused on playing:bassist::bag: *lol*

2. J. Crawford

J. Crawford

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    The Jazz, Precision, and Rickenbacker are 3 of the most played rock basses out there. Musicman is the only other one I can think of off the top of my head.

Any of those would be perfect. IF at all possible, try them all out and compare. See which one you like the most. Thats the best, most accurate way.

:bassist:

3. Gothic

Gothic

Apr 13, 2008
    Greece
    Go for the rick! It has the most "rock" look (Lemmy, anyone?) and sound to match! Sure, the jazz and the precision have what it takes, but a girl with a rick is just plain irresistible! :ninja:

4. I'm just thinking "JAZZ JAZZ JAZZ!"