1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help as a new bassist

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jcotto92, Jan 24, 2013.

1. Jcotto92

Jcotto92

Jan 24, 2013
    Well I started playing bass in March of 2012, i bought an Ibanez GSR100EX as a birthday present to myself and wanting to teach myself how to play. After about two or three months of playing I put down for a while and haven't really started to play until recently. Since I've been playing more recently than I ever really have before, I've noticed that my hand feels slightly uncomfortable while playing and I was wondering if it could perhaps be because of Ibanez's skinnny necks. I want to continue playing bass, but I'm now wondering if maybe i choose wrong by getting a bass with a skinny neck. :/

Here is the link to the page with all the details on the bass:http://www.ibanez.com/BassGuitars/model-GSR100EX

2. paganjack

paganjack

Dec 25, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    If anything, I'd say it's easier to play on a skinnier neck. Check around (i.e. do a few forum/google searches) on some proper technique.

3. Jcotto92

Jcotto92

Jan 24, 2013
    Alright will do thanks.

4. You just started playing, so I'd say that the discomfort in your fretting hand could probably be chalked up to your technique. Try and identify exactly what the problem is, maybe have another bassist examine your fretting hand technique and see what they say about it.

I wouldn't think that a skinny neck is the issue; in fact, a skinny neck is usually better for beginners. But everyone's different, I suppose.

5. R&B

R&B Both kinds of music: Rhythm AND Blues! Supporting Member

Hi Jcotto92, glad you are reaching out to your TB brothers for answers. Let me suggest some advice as an advanced beginner.