Need Help Choosing A Dog

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by StudioStuntz, Mar 30, 2018.

1. StudioStuntz

StudioStuntz

Jul 19, 2015
    I have no knowledge of dogs whatsoever, but I do know I want to get one.

I do know I want a medium-large only, preferably short-haired dog (puppy).

I’m guessing all dogs shed, even the short-haired breeds, so the shorter the hair, the better.

Playful, friendly and mellow, but can easily go into the guard-dog mode, which probably leaves out Labs/Retrievers as they might only lick the undesirables to death!?

I was thinking Pit Bull (about as small as I’d want to go), but only as a last resort, due to it’s rep.

German Shepards are susceptible to hip displacement, are smart and easily trainable, and would most likely be my first choice, if it wasn’t for that darned long hair.

I was also contemplating Dobermans, but heard they tend to be more high strung.

Any thoughts on Rotts would be appreciated as well.

In general, is one sex more more protective over the other one, and does it depend on the owners gender as well?

Is one gender more easily manageable after the mellowing S or N procedures?

I have heard that male dogs tend to wander.

Back when/back in LA, one could often be driving and see ‘puppies for sale (or free)' signs outside of people’s homes. I’ve never seen either sign in Oregon though.

Not at all familiar or comfortable with Craigslist, but would that be the only way to go?

I don’t want to spend too much, since I won’t be breeding it.

I’m guessing if I paid for one, then immediately brought it to the vet for an assessment and was told it would be needing medical treatment or was terminally ill, it’s ‘let the buyer beware’?

Any and all help would be appreciated.