Need help choosing my new rig...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Meyekul, May 18, 2005.

1. Hey all, I'm trying to put together a new rig to replace my struggling combo amp that I've been using for about 7 years. It's barely cutting it for the small gigs I've been doing, and I don't have a DI box so the PA isn't helping a bit. I can't even imagine taking that thing to a larger gig; it might make a good monitor... I've pretty much narrowed my choices down to the following:

Hartke 3500 amp

This should come to around $900 with shipping. My current amp uses a 15" speaker, and I really like to rumble, so I figured the B115 would be a good choice. However, I've also heard that you get a hell of a rumble out of the Avatar B212, so I'd like some opinions and maybe some sound clips if that would be possible. I know the sound clips wont help me "feel" the difference, but it should give me some idea. The 212 is rated 1000w RMS while the 115 is only 300w RMS, so I'd be able to use the 212 with a more powerful head later on. I would probably wait for a Neo version of the 212 though, as that extra 25lbs is kind of scary... :bag:

I know this rig will sound nice; I've done some homework and searching of this site. However, I also found a sweet Gallien-Krueger rig at Musicians Friend for around $650 (excluding shipping).

G-K Backline 600 head
    G-K Backline 210BLX
    G-K Backline 115BLX

This will be my first "real" rig so to speak, but I want it to last a while and work in a variety of situations. So, what do the experts have to say?
  2. may i recomend a gk800 RB with avatar 2x12 or the 210 115.

3. ndjx

Oct 26, 2001
    I wouldn't recommend those Backline cabs. They will not have the rumble you want like the Avatars will.

A Kustom Groove Bass head runs pretty close to the price of the Hartke. They have one at my local Music Go Round new for $499.

A few more options:
    Carvin B500 - $450 -