Need help deciding on major/career

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by southpaw723, Feb 27, 2017.

1. southpaw723

southpaw723

Oct 20, 2013
    Pittsburgh
    Ok, I recently turned 20 and I took this spring semester off from school after attending the university of Pittsburgh (Pitt) for 1.5 semesters. I'm a good student but I really have no clue on what I want to major in or "what I want to do." I definitely want to get a degree and I'm gonna go back in the fall. I have no interest in sitting behind a desk all day and I enjoy the outdoors. I also like working with numbers and stats. It's been very stressful hearing from everyone I know saying "what are you gonna do with your life?" just like that twisted sister music video. I need some advice fellow talkbassers.

2. TOOL460002

TOOL460002

Nov 4, 2004
    Santa Cruz
    Have you looked at surveying? That'd get you outside and use math.

LiquidMidnight and Ironbar like this.
  3. southpaw723

southpaw723

Oct 20, 2013
    Pittsburgh
    That's actually something I've looked into a bit, the job outlook isn't great though

4. TOOL460002

TOOL460002

Nov 4, 2004
    Santa Cruz
    What about civil engineering?

Munjibunga likes this.
  5. 5544

Dec 1, 2015
    Brain surgeon, rocket scientist, Starbucks barista, criminal lawyer?

6. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Inactive

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Forestry. You could work for the gumint or a logging company. Not sure how that plays up there but there are tons of them down here. You married to Pennsyltuckie?

7. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    A friend of mine is looking into geology.

8. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    The average person in college changes their major at least once. You are not in a unique position. Relax.