1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help finding a decent Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by waytoodeep03, Feb 28, 2008.

1. I have been playing bass for about 3 years now but never really got into playing a jazz bass. I dont even know where to start.

I was looking at Fender MIM and MIA basses and really dont know the difference in sound. I was also checking Lakland and G&L as well. Also Im hearing about the Squire Deluxe Jazz from this forum.

I dont know what to get. I just know I would like it to be active with alot of full bottom. I live in a town where not alot of these basses are available to play so I would buy unheard. I

2. Jo6Pak

Jo6Pak

May 2, 2007
    The Deluxe Series MIM Jazzes are active and pretty nice. I've almost bought one on a couple different occasions (ended up walking out with something else both times, but the MIM Deluxe was in the running). However, being Fenders, its always BEST if you can look at a few of them and choose one, as they tend to vary in construction. In your case, you might get lucky and order a decent one. Its a gamble though. I still wouldn't mind having one someday.

3. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    IMHO, nothing beats an MIA. MIMs are okay basses, but eventually you will want to upgrade. With an MIA, set it up, do a fret leveling (if needed) and you have a bass for life.

4. peterpalmieri

peterpalmieri Supporting Member

Apr 19, 2005
    Babylon, NY
    Hey man, You have probably read a little bit about some suspect QC on Fenders, I'd try to stay away from buying via mail order as you may end up unhappy. The Lakland JO and DJ are great basses both available in the Skyline version which is a similar price point to the MIA Fenders. I don't think the DJ comes active though.