Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need help for my extended essay...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Sheep Man, Mar 15, 2001.

1. Ok, I finally decided on comparing 2 bassists, but now I'm stuck for which 2 to compare...
    Right now I'm thinking either to compare 2 bassists who played in the same genre of music, comparing their style/technique etc.
    OR
    a bassist and another bassist that was influenced by them.

SO...which do you guys think would be more interesting/fun for me to write about? I have to hand in my research question/topic by the 26th of this month (which also happens to be my birthday... :D), so I still have about 10 days left, but I need to be specific about my research question/topic, meaning I have to name 2 bassists...
    I'd REALLY appreciate it if some of you guys could help me out with this, since I'm still a newbie to the world of bassists, and don't really know at all that many bassists, either solo performers or in bands or session players.

Thanks in advance,
    Adley Chan, aka Sheep Man :)

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    how about two who've had *great* influence on other bassists........say Jaco and James Jamerson?

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I'd choose those too.
    You'll probably find the most resources on those two bassists. At least there's plenty of Jaco info available, especially Milkowsky's book.
    It's probably gonna be hard to find enough info on other bassists, except perhaps some jazz bassists like Mingus.
    Heck, they even omit Jaco in most Jazz encyclopedia...