1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need help identifying ibanez bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mpopovits, Aug 20, 2012.

1. mpopovits

mpopovits

Aug 20, 2012
    Hi folks,

I have been curious about bass guitar for a little while and picked up an inexpensive used one today to satisfy my curiosity.

The ad said it was an Ibanez GSR200 and included the attached photo. On the back is a serial number starts with GS09E15**** (i'm omitting last 4 numbers for privacy) and a small green sticker that i think says made in china.

I'm a newbie to all this stuff so please bear with me.

I searched the internet and couldn't find another GSR200 that looked like this. This one has 2 knob controls and one pickup. Every other picture I've seen for GSR200's has a different pickup and more knobs. The person I bought it from said he bought it last year new but hadn't used it much himself (he's a guitarist). I haven't seen a matte wood finish like this in any of the GSR200's that i've seen in my online search.

Did I get a real Ibanez or is this a cheap knockoff? As long as it works well enough to satisfy my curiosity I don't mind. I would just like to know what it is that I have.

Thanks,
    Michelle

Attached Files:

2. TheAnalogKid

TheAnalogKid Yer Doin' GREAT!!!!

Dec 7, 2011
    Tacoma, WA
    Nope, it's a GSR 100EX. It's part of Ibanez's "GIO" line of budget basses. The natural finish-mahogany-is likely discontinued. Ibanez's web site only shows the black, but you can see the similarities.

http://www.ibanez.com/BassGuitars/model-GSR100EX

-Or-
    http://www.zzounds.com/item--IBAGSR100EX (shows discontinued)

Going price, used, I'd say 100 bones or less. I'd use one for a putz-around bass.

3. mellowinman

mellowinman Free Man

Oct 19, 2011
    Minneapolis