1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help making a small room into a mixing room.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by K2000, May 31, 2011.

1. K2000

K2000

Nov 16, 2005
    Brooklyn
    Need help picking monitors, and setting up room treatment. How bad am I screwed?

I'm just getting started setting up a small room into a workspace. I've only dabbled in computer recording before, using Garageband and headphones to monitor everything. I want to get more serious, so I purchased Logic... now I want to set up my little room with monitors.

[​IMG]

Each square is approx. 1 foot, so room is about 7.5 x 12 (depending on where you think the closet 'ends' the room).

My idea is to place the speakers on the already existing wall shelf (plank) which is about nose-high. (I work standing up). Front ported speakers... from reading, I understand that rear ported speakers are not best, if they need to be placed close to a back wall. I figure I can cheat the speakers a bit over the edge of the shelf and put Auralex pads to isolate (and point more towards my head). Maybe Auralex type pads on the wall directly behind the speakers, as well as on the wall behind me. Or what about hanging a big heavy theatre curtain on the wall behind me, as a bass trap?

Can you recommend speakers for me? I live in an apartment, so I will never want to get very loud, because of the neighbors. Despite that, I am willing to purchase more monitor than I need now, with an eye towards better/bigger rooms in the future. My music can be bass-heavy (synths and electronics) so it's important to me to hear the details in the lower frequencies too.

I was thinking about the KRK Rokit Powered 6.

:help: