1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help matching head to cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassmanMrEd, Oct 21, 2009.

1. Good afternoon everyone. I was trying to figure out how this is done. I have the GK Backline 600 head rated 300 Watts. What I want is to run 1x15 and either 2x10 or 4x10. Given this head, how would I match up speakers to use that I can benefit from? At present I am using at 300 watt x 15 woofer. How do you go about matching all this up. I am thinking of moving up to either 400 or 500+ watts as the others tend to drown me out a bit. But then again, HOW do you match it all up? Oh, it's an 8 ohm head too. I'm new to all this technical stuff. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks and have a nice one,
    Ed :cool:

2. Hmm you've got some facts backwards there, a head cannot be any one particular amount of ohms, a head has a minimum ohm rating for safe use. I'm fairly certain that the minimum ohms on the backline 600 is 4, not 8. perhaps you meant your cab is an 8 ohm 1x15?

3. i've always been told to think of it this way.
    you want to have more watts in your head then your speakers need, to have clean tone at volumes. if you 4ohm cab needs 700 watts, you should have a head that put out more then 700 watts to a 4ohm load.
    now if your amp can only support 300 watts at 4ohms, you'll be overdriving you head and getting a dirty sound, and will shorten the life of your head.
    if you have a 8ohm cab that takes 700 watts, with that same 700 watt 4ohm head. it would be the same as powering a ~1400 watt cab at 4ohms. so again you will be overdriving.

4. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago