Need Help Picking New Rig (boy am I confused)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jefft54, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Boy do I need help picking a new amp setup. After doing numerous searches and research here, I'm more confused than when I began.

I started learning the bass about 9 months ago (after tickling the ivories for many years) and now that I'm satisfied as to my commitment to learn a new instrument, I've upgraded my bass. I currently play a Fender Geddy and am expecting a delivery today of a new Fender MIA P-bass with a G&L L-2500 on order. My current amp is a Behringer 1200 combo which I don't think is worthy any longer of my new instruments.

At first I figured I would order another combo and narrowed my choices to the Fender 250/210, Ashdown Mag C115T 300, or the Eden CXC110 (used). After doing searches on the above, it became apparent that the majority of TBers recommend seperate components rather than combos. So I did more research and narrowed the possibilities to the GK Backline 600, Ashdown MAG 300, or Hartke HA2500 amps and Ashdown MAG115 deep, Hartke 115BXL, or SWR WorkingPro 1X15 (moneywise, I prefer to start with only 1 cab).

I have read the pros and cons of both combos and seperates and am really having a hard time deciding which way to go. While my piano is used in classic rock with some jazz clubbing, the bass, at this point, would be used for small jazz trios/quints, acoustic sets, and home rehearsals. However, I am looking ahead to the possibility of using it in a classic rock/covers environment, but thats a long way off, competence wise.

What is the opinion of the combos I listed as well as the seperates? At the moment, I know the combos would be fine but would really like to hear opinions of my choices. I don't want to start another "pro's and con's of combos" thread but would really appreciate feedback on the merits of my combo choices and seperates choices.
  2. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002