Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need help selecting soft strings please

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by chrisb7601, Oct 13, 2005.

1. chrisb7601

chrisb7601

Aug 30, 2005
    I'm new to bass and having left-hand wrist issues due to lobster-claw technique (another story) and squeezing the neck too hard. My strings seem really hard (stock strings on Epiphone gig pack bass) since I can't get a note without pressing down so hard my thumb and fingernails turn white. (I understand I should be able to intone without using my thumb -- nearly impossible with this setup, the bass rolls right around my waist -- and I already lowered the action.)

I want softer strings but don't want to overcorrect. I was about to buy D'Addario Chromes flat-wounds. They have two soft gauges, light (45-100) and super light (40-95) -- but I'm thinking now I would be switching to the opposite end of the spectrum...?

Is this overkill? I don't really like the idea of the Chromes being shiny flat strings, I kinda like my round wound normal-looking strings, but I don't know...

Any suggestions for a good normal string for fingerstyle that's really easy to press? I like a warm smooth sound and do not slap, pop or pick.

Yes I did a search on this, that's how I found out about the D'Addarios...

Thanks for any help you can give,
    Chris

2. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    Do you know any bass players? Even somebody from the local music store who's really a guitarist but plays bass when needed would do. Get them to try your bass and comment on the strings. I tend to use very light gauge strings (35-95) but, even playing instruments with heavier gauges, I don't remember having problems pressing the strings down enough to get a clear note.