Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need help to ID this Fender gear

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kas_lar, Oct 1, 2005.

1. kas_lar

kas_lar

Jan 12, 2005
    Denmark
    Hey guys..
    This Fender cab and amp is almost mine, but not until next friday. The seller doesn't know anything about bassgear so I just have to examen these pictures.

Take a look, and tell which Fender Bassman amp you think it is.
    No I havn't any serials... Just have to wait to friday...

Regards
    Kasper

Attached Files:

2. danomite64

danomite64

Nov 16, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    Uhh, a 1969 Fender Bassman, right? I'm not an expert on these, but electronically this may be the same as a blackface Bassman.

3. kas_lar

kas_lar

Jan 12, 2005
    Denmark
    Dunno...
    I havn't tried it yet. But it's a steal. It's like 800 $ in Danish krones for the head + cab..
    How do you date it? If I can't get the serial until friday? Any Fender experts nearby?

4. danomite64

danomite64

Nov 16, 2004
    Tampa, Florida
    I dated in because the grillcloth has aluminum piping around it, and that happened from late '68 through all of '69, If memory serves.

5. kas_lar

kas_lar

Jan 12, 2005
    Denmark
    how much is such a thing worth in US dollars?
    But yeah, you're right...
    I justed searched ebay and found a few matching items... item #7354559863 and 7354355886

Can you tell something about the cab?

6. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    Most definetely a CBS Fender Bassman, late '60s, a good amp but almost zero collector value being post '65. The cab may be older, making it more collectable, but with the original drivers it's almost unplayable. Forget about any power below an open A. Worthless on five string. But it would be a killer guitar rig.