Need help wiring new WIP 3-pickup Fender Jazz

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Cleb, Aug 27, 2017.

1. Cleb

Cleb

Aug 27, 2017
    So, I'm a fairly new bassist, having only been playing for a few months now. I just recently got hold of a WIP Fender Jazz, it is all put together but lacks any wiring. It also has what I gather is a fairly unusually pickup setup with two EMG single coils and a Lace humbucking in the back.
    I've spent the better part of week reading about how too wire a bass, and I feel like I'm starting to get a decent grasp of the essentials. What I haven't been able to do yet is decide on how to wire this guy up.
    Having just recently discovered this forum I thought I'd ask you guys for some advice! I've got some photos attached below. Hit me up with any questions, comments, or concerns! Interested to hear what thoughts you may have on it.

20170827_194801. 20170827_194812. 20170827_194822.

2. Crater

Crater

Oct 12, 2011
    Dallas, TX area
    Questions:
    What's "WIP"?
    Are those EMG pickups active or passive?
    Are you going to bother to screw down the bridge pickup? :D
    Was there some kind of tone you're seeking that caused you to buy this 3-pickup gizmo?

I'm not you, but I'd wire the two j-bass style pickups in the normal J-bass fashion, (volume, volume, tone) and then have the Lace bridge pickup with it's own volume control and a 2-position toggle to switch between the J-bass pickups OR the Lace bridge pickup on it's own. I just don't see the 2 jazz pickup combining nicely with the loud but passive bridge pickup, especially if those EMGs are active. It'll be like having TWO (TWO!) basses in one!

3. Cleb

Cleb

Aug 27, 2017