Need help wiring Nordstrand MM4.2 to stock Stingray preamp (sound clips/pics inside)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Kristopher, Mar 18, 2007.

1. Kristopher

Kristopher

Mar 13, 2005
    Tempe, AZ
    Hey guys, I just bought a new Nordstrand MM4.2 pickup to put in my '98 EBMM Stingray but I'm not sure what wire needs to be soldiered where. I've searched all over TB and the net (including the Nordstrand site, which says "this area coming soon" under wiring diagrams) but haven't found info on how to connect this pickup to the stock preamp. I admit I'm a newb when it comes to making any sort of mod on a bass.

Here's my stock pickup and where it connects to the preamp:

[​IMG]

Here's my Nordstrand MM4.2:

[​IMG]

The included instructions say:

Parallel Humbucker (standard)
    Red + black + hot
    White + green + shield = ground

I would like to wire it this way (parallel). Some questions:

Is it supposed to say "red + black = hot" instead of "red + black + hot"?

Is my original EBMM pickup currently wired in series or parallel?

I promise to post picks when I'm done to help out anyone else looking to make this same simple pickup change. I'll also post before and after sound clips.

2. Carey

Carey

Jan 18, 2002
    Redlands, CA
    Yes, it is supposed to say " red + black = hot". This will connect where the white wire is currently.
    Sorry about that.
    The original is wired in parallel and our instructions are also for parallel. We use a four conductor wire so you have the option for series and other switching options.
    HTH

3. Kristopher

Kristopher

Mar 13, 2005
    Tempe, AZ
    Thanks Carey, that helped a lot!

I combined the red and black wire and soldiered it where the black wire went on the EBMM preamp, then I combined the white, green, and bare wire and soldiered it where the white wire went on the EBMM preamp. Relatively easy, even for a noob.