1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need Help With a Double Neck Build: Wiring

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Max Pratt, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Max Pratt

Max Pratt

Mar 10, 2011
    Ok so a build I am working on at the moment has a very odd arrangement of pickups and two necks, and therefore has wiring that is a bit strange.

Ok so it will look like this; A 3 pickup guitar, and a 2 pickup guitar, 4 knobs: a vol and tone for each guitar, a 3 way switch for the two pickup guitar, a 5 way switch for the three pickup guitar, and finally a 3 way On/On/On for selecting which neck to use.

The actual wiring of each guitar independently should not be too difficult, it is connecting them to one jack through a 3 way switch that worries me. I have a lot of experience wiring instruments, but this is definitely the most complicated thing I have done so far. So, any help you could give would be STELLAR.

:hyper::bassist::hyper:

Max Pratt

2. InternetAlias

InternetAlias

Dec 16, 2010
    Serbia
    What exactly do you have a problem with? Just as you'd wire hot and ground from a pickup, pot or tone to a 3 way switch, you're supposed to wire two separate guitar systems to one output jack.

Also, I'd advise you to put three outs on the guitar, it'd be way more useful in a multi rig setup if you have/use one. So basically, just wire guitars independently to their own output jack, then continue wire from output jacks to a central output jack, but through a 3 way switch.

3. Max Pratt

Max Pratt

Mar 10, 2011