Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

need help with amplifiying my bass

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by JoelEoM, May 18, 2002.

1. JoelEoM

JoelEoM

Mar 11, 2002
    Lancaster, PA
    hi, ive posted a good bit over in BG, but this is my first time in DB. heres my problem - ive got a wedding gig coming up, and it calls for some DB. since i dont own one, i borrowed one from my old highschool, along with a fishman BP-100 pickup. my only forms of amplification are a hartke 2000 head, with either a hartke 2.5XL(210s, 5" midrange) or a vintage ampeg V-4B(215s). im having a lot of trouble getting a good even tone using either cabinet, and if you guys could give me any pointers here, that would be great(aside from a new rig:D). i have the transducers placed 1/8th inch from the top of the bridge, as per instructions, if that helps any. if you need me to further clarify anything, just say so. thanks guys:)

2. I see two things here. One, You borrowed a high school bass. ( Which are for the most part,famous for their high quality, great response, and wonderful string quality.) :rolleyes: Second you are using a fishman, but you don't mention any sort of pre-amp or blender. I have personally found a few things out based on my experience with the fishman. One, you have to EQ the hell out of them to get a decent sound, and, if the transducers are not flush against the bridge, you will lose sound quality. I used to use a sadowski preamp, and that seemed to help, but It does take some experimentation to find a good placement for the plates, personally I would back off a bit more than 1/8 inch.

3. JoelEoM

JoelEoM

Mar 11, 2002
    Lancaster, PA
    thanks:) and ditto on the bass:D although it actually does have new strings and decent action. i made sure i got the best one of all the basses there(the school has almost a dozen)