1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need help with buying a new bass. Sadowsky / Roscoe ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Squice, Apr 7, 2006.

1. Finally this month i have the opportunity to buy a new bass.
    I have been playing bass for 15 years, and my cash flow doesn´t alow my to go through 5 basses per/year like some of you cats.

What i´m looking for is a bass that i can use in most situations. I know that there is no, one that does it all bass. But i do need versatility, The bass is going to be used for both live/studio work.

I need to be able to get both clear/little agressive tone and also be able to go a little on the smooth side to when i want to. I need a bass that responds well tonally to whether i´m playing near the bridge or neck.

The band i´m playing with now, i´m going for an oldskool sound, using a p-bass copy with flatwounds. So it wouldn´t be bad if i could get pretty close to that sound with my new bass.

I live in Iceland so my options are somewhat limited.
    I´ve come down to two brands. Sadowsky or Roscoe.
    No musicstores in Iceland have had those basses. So my options
    are really just based on reviews. I´ve been longing for a sadowsky for 12 years now. So it sure is að dream come true.

One music store here is getting 4 Sadowsky metro´s. 2 of them are 5 strings. so i´m looking at one of them.
    one is RV5 - Alder/rosewood and MV5 - Ash/maple.
    What is the tonal difference in those 2? witch one do you think would better suit me and what i´m looking for?

other thing. Do you think that it would be wiser to buy a new metro or buy a use Nyc? just thinking about sound/playability, metro´s have all what i need lookwise.