Need Help With Cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Andrew266, Jan 8, 2005.

1. Im trying to get the biggest bang for my buck and being a college student i dont have much money, Im Quite Aware that the Ampeg stuff is high quaility but it also has a High Price Tag, The Ashdown price tag is really low and Hartke seems to be mid -grade, im looking to be playing metal, hardcore and occasionaly some jazz and alterntive, i own a Epiphone Thunderbird IV and a GK400Rb head for the momment, i will be playing in Standard, Drop D , ocasionaly a whole step down, very rarely 2 steps down i do not really muddy or buzzing, but looking for a nice round

Ampeg SVT15E 399.99
    Ampeg SVT410HE 579.99
    Ampeg SVT810E 949.00

Ashdown MAG 410T deep 299.95
    Ashdown MAG 115T deep 249.95
    Ashdown MAG 810T deep 659.95

Hartke 410B XL Professional Cabinet 399.99
    Hartke 115B XL Professional Cabinet 299.99
    Hartke 810 XL Bass Cabinet 699.99

Thanks for your time its alot for a first time post but thank you for any help
  2. Funky-Wunky

Jun 15, 2004
    If you are going to play high volume you may need a whole stack, but if your funds are limited, start with a 1x15 cabinet which is a bass players bread and butter. There is good used stuff for a lower price. Also, try out peavey stuff. Peavey is always good quality and made bullet proof. They make a large cab with an 18 and 2 tens which sounds good. :cool:
  3. Hows the quaility of those Ashdown 410 mags i heard alot of good stuff about their abm line but not to much about the mags 299 for the 410 dosnt sound bad
  4. My buddy, Chris has a pair of the Ashdown 410 mags. I only heard them once, sounded great. His TB name is kringle77.
  5. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland