1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help with fitting/tuning new bass strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by robplaysguitar, Dec 26, 2011.

1. robplaysguitar

robplaysguitar Guest

Dec 26, 2011
    Hey, i'm having a bit of a problem fitting my new bass strings on my guitar. I've fitted strings a few times before but only on an acoustic guitar, this is my first attempt on a bass.. It can't be much different, surely?

I'm going for a standard tuning (to settle them in) and i'm half way through (doing one string at a time)....

I've fitted both the 50 and 75 strings and tuning them to a G and D but i can't get them into tune! The tension feels right but my tuner is coming up with a B instead of a D (LB on the screen) and an E instead of G!? I'm worried that if i tighten them anymore they'll snap :/

Am i doing something wrong or is this just the fact the strings need to loosen up a bit or have i done something wrong? I didn't cut the strings so there's quite alot wound into the tuning peg, i've also lined it all up just how it was before with the old strings. I haven't touched the bridge, however whilst takikng the old strings off i did loosen this nut that was going over the D and G string right at the neck of the bass, it looked like a securing nut or something but not sure?

So just so you know the strings i'm fitting are Ernie Ball Regular Slinky (Custom Gauge) Roundwound. Oh and my bass is a Cruiser by Crafter, and before you say anything about that...I got it given to me!

Any help would be great! :bassist:

2. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    Sounds like you are already too high. Like, the G string is tuned to the higher B. Do you have a piano, or another source of reference?
    Is your tuner set to 440?

3. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

Stop now, read the stickies on installing strings.

Then start over.