1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need help with staining mahogany

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by bassgiant15, Mar 19, 2010.

1. bassgiant15

bassgiant15 Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses

Dec 19, 2005
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I know this is a bass forum, but i had to ask here since i mainly play bass.

I am working on staining a mahogany telecaster body. I want to stain it black and want it to be pretty dark. This is the first time i have ever stained a guitar and just want to do the best job that i can on it.

Can anyone recommend me some materials as far as applying the stain and also a basic outline for me.

Also, if someone knows of a black stain that i can get from Lowes or Home Depot that i could get more easily than ordering from stew mac....I would greatly appreciate it!!! (I am a noob and don't know much about what kind of stain to use)

This is what i ordered, but i will send it back if i can get more black stain locally in a greater abundance. http://www.stewmac.com/shopby/product/5032

I have this link to go on so far:http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo/Finishing/Finishing_schedules/i-nitrocellulose.html

Also, this for a bit of pictures:

I have been told elsewhere to "buy some black leather dye, it'll work perfectly. Wipe it on with a paper towel or a rag you can throw away. Just keep applying coats evenly until it's as dark as you want."

Will this work better than the stain?

Many many thanks to anyone that can lend me some advice/help!!!!

2. Rickett Customs

Rickett Customs

Jul 30, 2007
    Southern Maryland
    Luthier: Rickett Customs...........www.rickettcustomguitars.com