Need help with (very) basic theory

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by NicJimBass, Jul 8, 2008.

1. NicJimBass

NicJimBass Flossin'? I thought your name was Munson!

Nov 22, 2004
    Lancaster, OH
    Hipshot
    Hey all,

I'm currently enrolled in the Player's School in Clearwater, so I can ask someone there tomorrow, but I was hoping to get an answer tonight, so I don't waste any time.

In ensemble class today, we began very very basic sight reading (which I've never done before). We did something dubbed the quater-tone highway, which is 4 quarter notes every measure (obviously), 2 roots and 2 7ths (I believe). Those notes are repeated for 2 measures, then on to 2 new notes. Following so far? So here's how it goes:

First 2 measures:
    C-7- CCGG
    2nd 2 measures:
    F-7-FFCC
    3rd:
    D-7- DDAA
    4th:
    G-7- GGDD

No problems there, I understand that, but after we went through this, it got a bit trickier for me. Now, instead of playing the root notes (in these cases- C,F,D,G) we played the 3rd, 5th and 7th, all at different times. The only thing is, I don't know how to tell a 3rd from a hole in the ground. I did a search but didn't come up with anything I understood. Like I said, this is one reason I'm attending PSOM in the first place, and being that this was the first full day of class, it may still be addressed, but I'd like to be able to practice what I've learned so far and not waste any time. If someone could "de-mistify" the interval thing for me, I'd really appreciate it!!

Nick

2. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    Massachusetts
    To find the 3rd, 5th etc.. from the root note, you just count up however many from that note so for example.

Root Note: G - The 5th would be D (G A B C D)

Root Note: F - The 3rd would be A (F G A)

To find the 7th, just remember the note right below the octave, also called the Flat 7th.

Root Note: E - 7th would be D

Hope that helps.