1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need Help

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Midgar, Apr 28, 2009.

1. Midgar

Midgar

Feb 21, 2009
    I've been playing bass for about 4 years. I want to exceed these skills, But I don't know where to start. :(

I play both Double bass and Bass guitar and would like to learn slap bass on guitar and use the Double bass for orchestral stuff.
    I know some music theory.

Can someone lead me somewhere?

Where can I get music to practice?

2. For the DB, if you want to play in an orchestra, there is only one answer: get lessons. A good teacher can point you to any music you will need, and more to the point can figure out what it is you need to be doing to improve. Also they can help you figure out the physical issues so you don't injure yourself, which is a big factor with an orchestral workload.

Tell us where you are and someone should be able to point you to a teacher or school. It's the only answer.

Oh, and learning DB properly will improve your BG playing a lot too. After a while you'll find BG really very easy (you still have to practice, nothing gets around that).

3. joel kelsey

joel kelsey

Aug 1, 2006
    Chicago, IL

I complete and totally agree with everything you said except the above statement. Playing bass guitar well is just as difficult as playing any instrument. There is a lot that goes into getting a good sound. The right and left hand technique is different. Any double bass player can play some stuff on the electric, but playing the electric well presents it's own set of challenges. Saying it's "quite easy" compared to the double bass seems uninformed to me. Sorry bout the OT rant. Once again, I quite agree with everything else you said.

4. Midgar

Midgar

Feb 21, 2009