1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need Info about learning bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dipietro76, Jan 17, 2012.

1. Dipietro76

Dipietro76

Jan 17, 2012
    Hello all, I am a 35 year old drummer and in recent years I've been really enjoying pocket/ groove drumming. I grew out of trying to show off with non stop drum fills and enjoy locking in w/ a bass player. In doing so I've grown a real appreciation for bassists and I really want to learn how to play. I feel it'll make me grow as a drummer in addition to growing as a musician. My problem is a little fear. I am a self taught drummer, I naturally always had rhythm and just had to gain my motor memory and I was able to learn by listening to albums. So I know little of reading music, notes etc.
    So my question is will my self taught music experience hinder my learning and how difficult is it to learn the notes and know them well enough so you can just know what key a song is and flow with it.

Thanks in advance.

2. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    I am a drummer to bass convert myself. I just started. Pickup Hal Leonard Bass Method book 1 and start there. It is very non-intimidating and you learn to read right from the get go. However I urge you to just not try that. Get tabs of songs, etc. However the HL book really gets you going. You obviously know a bassist that you can also work with to help you.