1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need info on '56 American Standard Upright

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Dave Harbst, Sep 27, 2009.

1. Dave Harbst

Dave Harbst

Sep 27, 2009
    (I'm new to TalkBass and already posted this, but in the BG section by mistake, so I will re-post it here in DB.)
    First of all, I'm just getting interested in bass, so I know almost nothing about a bass. I've been a mandolin player for quite a while, but never tried the bass. I have an opportunity to trade a mandolin for a bass, but I'm not familiar with what the bass I'm interested in is worth. So far, this is what I've been told: It's a 1956 American Standard and has recently had all new hardware, a neck reset, new adjustable bridge, adjustable end pin, new tuners, new tailpiece and new strings. The guy who owns it is a bluegrass musician who plays professionally. He claims the bass is a "monster". Any feedback, good, bad or otherwise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. tomshepp

tomshepp Supporting Member

Jan 11, 2006
    Maynard MA
    American Standards are, IMHO, and limited knowledge, well respected old American plywood basses. I think they are more rare than Kay basses which are also highly regarded in some circles. AS basses have a rep of having a big sound and are sought after by a lot of bluegrass players. They also can have problems in certain areas. A good luthier will know about all of this.

All this being said, you should play the bass, have it evaluated by a respected luthier, and then compare that with the value of the mandolin that you are trading.

I think there was a really nice AS for sale in the classified section here. With old plywood basses, originality of the instrument also affects its value. Best of luck and welcome to TB.

3. Dave Harbst

Dave Harbst

Sep 27, 2009
    >>tomshepp