1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need LOTS of help choosing an inexpensive combo amp!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by rgparker, Jun 25, 2007.

1. rgparker

rgparker

Jun 25, 2007
    North Wales
    Hello everyone.

I'm new to playing bass and am finding it difficult to decide on which combo amp to choose. It has to be loud enough to jam a drummer and a guitarist but probably is unlikely to see any gigging beyond house parties and the like!

I initially thought something in the 30W range would be ideal (coming from playing guitar) but have since realised that this probably isn't enough! Ideally I want to spend as little as possible but at the same time don't want to end up with something that won't do. My absolute maximum budget is £200, but ideally I'd like to spend less. The amps I have looked at so far are (the ones that seem particularly impressive for the money are in red!):

• Gallien-Krueger Backline 112 - 100W 1x12 - £199
    • Hartke B600 - 60W 1x12 - £184
    • Laney RB3/RB4/RB5 65/160/120W 1x12 - £138/£194/£192
    • Peavey MAX 115 Combo 60W 1x15 - £149

But how on earth do I choose from the list?! I'd like to know both which are better, which are best value, which would be more than I need and which are too little... any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. portaflexer

portaflexer

Jan 31, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Here's my $.02. If you're playing with a drummer, the absolute minimum you want is around 60W (solid state) and a 12" driver.