Need new bass, looking at Fender Jazz bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Exploding Boy, Oct 30, 2003.

1. Exploding Boy

Exploding Boy

Oct 30, 2003
    I'm looking to spend around $500. One of the big things with my new bass is that it has to appeal to be visually, and I really like the look of the Fender Jazz bass. I also obviously care for it to sound good.

I'd say my skill level is about intermediate. I've been playing for about 3 years, though for some of that time I was inactive after my last band broke up, but now I am starting a new band and want a good bass (my current one is some old, crappy used one that was $80).

Where should I buy from? Online? A local shop? Any suggestions and comments are welcomed.
  2. A Fender Jazz bass is a fairly common instrument. I would imagine you could buy it at most guitar shops. I would recommend checking out the used market first, see your local newspaper.

Though many people have had good experiences purchasing instruments on-line, I would recommend you buy it local so you can get a good feel for it before you buy. I noticed that different basses that are the same model may feel different.
  3. id look at local shops, buying online can be a pain in the butt. fender jazz is an all around excellent instrument. good choice.
  4. I very much suggest buying used for a Fender Jazz. You can get them at a very resonable cost that way. If you buy an American made one in the store it can cost upwards of a grand, even the Mexico made Fenders go for $400 or so retail. Used you can get a Mexico Fender for about $200 or an American standard for about $450. On the subject of buying locally, you can usually find ads in your local paper or if you have something like a "Recycler" paper in your area, they may have ads online and you can get ahold of people in your local area to check out basses before you buy (always a good idea).