Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

need opinions on how to play...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SUM4182, Feb 11, 2002.

1. SUM4182

SUM4182

Feb 10, 2002
    Bolingbrook, IL
    i started playing bass a few days ago. i want to learn every way there is to play, but i cant take lessons until this summer. so i figured i can play some punk and some easy stuff with just a pick for now, however, i hear all you guys saying not to play with picks and to play with fingers. i dont even know how to play with fingers...so is it worth it to play bad songs like blink 182 and stuff until i take lessons, or learn the play with my fingers on my own? i really need to know. like i said i want to learn all the ways, so i can as good as i can. im only 16 and i know i have a long time ahead of me. what should i do? all help would be much appreciated. thankx

2. CrawlingEye

CrawlingEye Member

Mar 20, 2001
    Easton, Pennsylvania
    Someone should be able to fish out a picture for you, showing someone playing finger style. :)

3. umm, am I missing something?
    I guess i really never thought about it but what’s "proper" finger technique other then using your fingers to hit the strings? I mean other then trying to use more then one finger what’s to know?

4. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I think it's probably best if you play around as much as you can with it. Some pointers on fingerstyle:

Don't pluck the string - a lot of newcomers kind of hook the string and pluck at it, this'll work for getting a sound but slow you down bigtime in the long run.

To practice the right way to do it you touch the string with the tip of you finger and let it slide off creating a sound. There's lots of variations on that, but that's the main fingering technique.