Need opinions on situation with my band and ownership of live sound; How would you handle?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by npbassman, Jul 29, 2019.

1. npbassman

npbassman Supporting Member

Apr 25, 2002
    Connecticut
    Apologies ahead of time for the long post. Scroll to the bottom for a short summary if you want the quick lowdown.

I’m in a band playing RB, Soul and Classic Rock. I’m fairly new to the group having been here for only three months and so far I’m having the time of my life. The ‘music, money, hang’ rule has all three boxes checked. I love the setlist, we’re getting tons of gigs and up to now everyone gets along really well, which at this point of my musical life is the most important thing to me.

Well, I knew it had to happen eventually but we’ve hit our first ‘bump’ and I’d like to get everyone’s opinion on it. This is a fairly “non-techie” group with the exception for me as I’m an IT engineer by day. I’ll get straight to the point. The bassist I replaced used to run the sound and he owned the PA so he took with him when he left. The band decided to purchase a Soundcraft UI24 digital board but the problem is, they don’t know how to operate it. The first gig I played with them was feedback city and they had no idea how to take corrective action. Being super excited about the new band, I chipped in when possible and it didn’t take them too long to figure out that I’m a pretty fast study when it comes to understanding software UI’s so I figured out the board quickly. However, I made it clear that I’m a rookie sound man at best. I understand the concepts but I've never actually run live sound before however it's apparent that I'm the most capable in the group to do this, even given my limited experience and skills. So, the band asked me if I’d be willing to take a stab at running sound and I reluctantly said yes. I kind of figured it out and it turns out that I can get a pretty good sound and ring out the system if given enough ti