1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Need opionions on a bass to get for 200 dollars and under.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rockinrainbowkitten, Oct 6, 2015.

1. rockinrainbowkitten

rockinrainbowkitten

Oct 6, 2015
    I've been playing guitar for 5 years and I'm dying to try a bass. I've been looking around and found a Dean bass that looks beautiful and sounds quite nice in my opinion. However, I don't know if it is worth the money. So if you could please give me some opinions on the Dean bass or suggest a bass that would be better for the price I would really appreciate it. I would like to find a bass that will suit me when I get better at playing, I'd prefer not to blow money on a cheap piece of junk and then have to buy another bass down the road. Thank you. Amazon.com: Dean Custom Zone Bass, Nuclear Green: Musical Instruments

2. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    It's very important to try out a few basses, of course, but as long as the store you're buying from has a good return policy, it's not absolutely necessary if you're unable to.
    My first bass when I got serious about playing was this. Dean Hillsboro Single.
    256uxvk.jpg
    I bought it brand new for $115 because it needed the fret edges filed. Did the job myself.
    Great bass, nice active electronics, sounded better than the few Sterling SUB Rays I've owned. Very nice neck, too.

This used Dean Motto is for sale at the Guitar Center in Plymouth Meeting, Pa for $225. New, they were $499. Passive but very potent pickups.
    If no one buys it soon, I just might have to, but I'm hoping for a black one as I already have a red Fender Jazz bass.
    2mzm6ah.jpg
    And I just bought one of these last week. Dean Exotica.
    250ngih.jpg

Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  3. rockinrainbowkitten

rockinrainbowkitten

Oct 6, 2015
  4. jd56hawk

jd56hawk