Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need rock recommendations

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by megl, Jan 16, 2006.

1. megl

megl

Jan 15, 2006
    Hi

I'm a guitarist picking up the bass (yeah, yeah - same old story :) ) and need some recommendations on who to listen to.

I like stuff like classic rock and newer hard rock and stoner.

Obviously I'm checking John Paul Jones out! I like what Nick did with qotsa and also dig Jeordie White (Twiggy R) with Nine Inch Nails and A Perfect Circle.

I'm a pick player and because of my guitar playing, technique won't be the biggest problem. I primarily gotta learn to think like a bass player and to 'lock' into a groove with a drummer.

Thanks in advance!

/megl

2. Welcome to TalkBass. Well... if you're into Nine Inch Nails and A Perfect Circle the obvious recommendation would seem to be to check out Justin Chancellor with Tool. He's an exellent pick style player with a great tone who locks up well with one of the best drummers in rock. Interesting and very creative player. I'd also check out a band called Tomahawk. They've got the bass player from the Melvins, who's name escapes me but he lays out some quintesensial driving pickstyle rock lines. He's got probably my favorite pick style tone. Not to mention they have Mike Patton on vocals, whom I find to be one of the most talented and interesting out there. Oh, and if you're going to be playing bass you should check out Les Claypool from Primus at some point. Really distinctive bass playing, to put it mildly.:)

3. Yeah!

4. megl

megl

Jan 15, 2006
    Thanks SFjonstarr. Justin Chancellor is a very good recommendation - thanks! I like Tool but have never checked them out in depth ... now may be a good time for that ;-)