1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need some advice on a miswire...

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Verticos, Oct 3, 2009.

1. Verticos

Verticos

Mar 29, 2007
    Boston, MA
    So, my Fender Jazz 24 is no longer functioning. About 9 months ago I wired it up with an Aguilar OBP-3, and everything worked fine and dandy. Fast forward to now. I was replacing the push/pull volume pot because the old one was broken. I wired it all up, and lo and behold, the pickups no longer work when the blend is centered. I am no expert at wiring electronics, and I am under the opinion that my retrofitting of the Aggie only worked correctly by sheer luck. :ninja: I am sure this is because I wired something wrong putting it back together.

With the blend centered, I get zero output from the bass, and a lot of hum and radio interference. The bass works fine with either of the pickups solo, but conks out when I try to blend them. I tried rewiring the blend pot, so now I am sure that the blend and the volume are both wired correctly.

I could find very little on the internet about other people with this same problem. The closest thing I could find was someone saying that if the pickups were out of phase, the volume would sharply decrease when the blend was centered, but nobody ever complained about a complete loss of volume.

Any advice or things to try and correct this are greatly appreciated, as I have a gig to play this week and I would very much like to use this bass...

2. Before we can tell you what you did wrong, you're going to have to elaborate on the wiring job you did.
    Can you take pictures or something?

3. Verticos

Verticos

Mar 29, 2007
    Boston, MA