1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need some better gear ASAP, HELP!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JeffC, Aug 23, 2007.

1. JeffC

JeffC

Mar 8, 2007
    So I started playing bass about 6 months ago, also play with a band, I play a lot now and things are progressing nicely.

I started with a Peavey TKO 80w 1x15", sounds like crap but I didn't know any better at the time and it was cheap.

I had borrowed an old Traynor Bassmaster YBA-1 with the matching cab (2x15") from a buddy for a while. It sounded good and cut through the mix well. He took it back recently tho. :crying:

Most recently, I had a gig with my band so I treated myself and rented a Traynor bassmaster XS400H amp and a Traynor 800w 8x8" cab. Sounded great, although I would have prefered a 4x10" or something.

Now that the rented gear has gone back, I am stuck with my old Peavey again and it sounds like complete garbage. I can't even stomach playing through it.

I will be playing small to medium venues and of course practice. I currently play a Ibanez GSR200, nothing special but it gets the job done for now.

What should I be looking at? Maybe a 200w combo or a stack of some sort? I don't want to spend a fortune bit I don't really want to cheap out either. With so many options it is hard to choose. :help:

Thanks for the help!

2. Whar kind of music do you play?

3. JeffC

JeffC

Mar 8, 2007
    That would have been a good thing to mention....

Currently I'm playing some pink floyd, zeppelin, greenday, offspring, hootie and the blowfish, some pop stuff, blues and I'm just starting to work at some motown as well.

4. dvh

dvh Supporting Member

Sep 1, 2006
    Halifax, Nova Scotia