Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need some groove and feel help.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by mebusdriver, Oct 15, 2004.

1. I've been playing rock, and prog., and pop stuff since I started playing. I play a lot of King Crimson style stuff, Radiohead, and Tool in the rock area. And I'm having a serious problem.

I'm starting to study jazz, funk, and a lot of motown stuff. Mainly I've been listening to Miles, Jaco, Herbie, Mingus, and Coltrane, and Ron Carter. And what I've found out about my playing is that I'm really stiff. I have almost no groove. I can play the Radiohead bass lines with all the groove in the world but those are big long notes that don't require a lot of technique and finess. But when I sit down to play some Jaco or over some Miles I just feel so dang stiff.

I've found that all these walking lines and funk and jazz lines are all about groove and not placement. Less is usually more but you have to use the right notes to make it swing and sound funky.

So what I'm asking is is there any techniques anyone can give me to work on to get my mind thinking groove instead playing spot on time with not feel but a lot of notes. Make my touch lighter, softer, and with more feeling. I'd also like someone to point me in the direction of some scales and theory based on jazz. I'm so used to playing fifths and walking from there but it just doesn't fit.

Really sorry for the ramble BUT THIS IS KILLING. It's making me hate to play. I need this fixed. :help:

2. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ha ...

I'm not the one to ask, but I did get a chuckle out of hearing yet another say "I thought I was doing OK until I tried to play Jaco, and now I feel like a dork".