1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Need some help with bass tuning.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by davidtal, Apr 3, 2013.

1. davidtal

davidtal

Apr 3, 2013
    Winnipeg,MB
    Hi guys.Im just learning to play bass,and I also play guitar and sing.Im shopping for a bass guitar and im trying to decide if I should go for a 5 strings bass or I can make it with a 4-stringer b/c my guitar is tuned to a lower D (1 tone down) b/c it's easier for me to sing,so my question is,if I play song in key of E on down tuned guitar,what are my options to record a bass? Should I play bass in regular tuning in the key of D,or should I just detune my bass? If I use the EADG in key of D will it sound deep enough with a downtuned guitar? Please advise.

2. ElectroVibe

ElectroVibe

Mar 2, 2013
    It will sound fine. 99.9% of bass parts have been recorded that way because most players generally use standard tuning.

There is also a "drop D" tuning you can experiment with. Standard tuning with the low E dropped to a D.

3. davidtal

davidtal

Apr 3, 2013
    Winnipeg,MB
    ElectroVibe,thanks for your reply!
    I think I've got it!

4. Not going to get into your dropped D 6 string guitar as I normally ignore all the special tunnings and capo stuff the 6 string guitar guys do and just ask; "OK fine, what key is the music to be played in.". Now to your question about the 4 or 5 string.