Need some help with practice routine (and another question)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LiquidMidnight, May 7, 2002.

1. LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    Hello all. Even though I've been playing bass for 6 years, I think that it's time to do some big progressing and I've been thinking about getting a strict practice routine going. (say an hour or so a day) Question is, how do you think I should go about it? I've been doing a lot of work with tapping but I'm going to start working in some other things.

Right now, I want to work on:

Tapping (both single hand, and two hand)
    Theory (I know all my modes, how to construct chords, ect. But I want to learn about tri-tones and things of that nature)
    Slap (I'm really behind on my slapping, I want to get a video on just slap, any suggestions? I can do some basic Flea-type octave and pentatonic things, but I want a video that takes you all the way from the basics to the advanced techinques)
    Soloing (a guess this goes along with the theory part)

Just wondering, how should I go about this. Should I allot a certain amount of time to each technique? Should I write a practice interary out? What are your suggestions for a good practice routine. Also, do you know any good resources on the web for what I want to concentrate on?

And my other question is, do you find it frustrating about learning certain things on bass and never being able to apply them to a playing situation? For example, the current band I'm in, I'll never have a reason to do any two handed type, yet I feel I should learn how to do it well. Every expierence that?
  2. Get up at 6 play bass for an hour, go to school and play in my breaks, come home, eat, play till about 5, meet with the band and play till 8, eat, watch TV and play bass, then play untill I eventually fall to sleep...
    This routine every day of every week of every month of every year...

3. cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
  4. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member