need some help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by tevye, Sep 3, 2003.

1. tevye

Sep 3, 2003
    hey, I'm a newbie, I'm going to go buy a bass this week... I have about $400 maybe $450... I'm wanting to get a bass, an amp, a electric tuner, and a bag... I was wondering if anyone might have a suggestion or two for me, what kinda bass... or what kinda amp I might want to look for... thanks!!
  2. Where do you live, this way I may be a little MORE helpfull. :) ?
  3. tevye

Sep 3, 2003
    I live in northern california, near sacramento... there is a guitar center in sac... that's where I'm planning on going
  4. Wow...lots of new bass players lately! Welcome to TB, enjoy your stay ;)

If your budget is only $400-$450, I would recommend getting an Essex Bass or an Ibanez GSR200. Of course if you don't want either of those, you can go look for a nice used Fender. You can get the Essex basses at and you can view specs of the Ibanez GSR200 at and purchase at

As for a gig bag, the Coffin Cases are pretty nice, just got mine today (yay), they are like $30 and you can get them at

For the tuner I use a Korg Chromatic Tuner and their pretty cheap at like under $20.

For an amp, I'd go for a 15-25watt practice amp for now. I used to have a Johnson 15watt amp that was a total monster, but now xush or his mom has it ;) I'd check out eBay for one or the classifieds on this forum.

If you have trouble finding the stuff on the sites, lemme know and I'll post actual links.

Another thing when having us help you choose a bass, let us know what kind of music you want, it will help us in helping you choose what bass would be best for you ;) Hope I was of some help, lemme know if you need anymore help! ~ Tyler