Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need some Legal advice........

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Funkee1, Mar 25, 2004.

1. Funkee1

Funkee1

Jul 19, 2002
    Texas
    Ok. I got a parking ticket that I intend to fight. Handicapped zone violation.

Here's the situation:

I have been gigging at Dick's Last Resort for about 2 years. We always double Parked in order to load. We would turn on our blinkers, and make it obvious that load/ unload was going on, and get in and out ASAP. This was fine, and we never got bothered by the police. Once, I was asked "Is this your car?" When I explained what I was doing, the cop said "I'll give you 15 minutes. If you're not done I'll ticket.,

March 10th, I did this, and the cops came to harass me. I told them what I was doing, and they wouldn't budge. I moved the car to the blue curd, put my flashers on, and asked "Is this ok?/ I know it's a handicapped spot, but I am not double parked. Once I move my 140lb speaker cab, I'll move the car!". They said OK. As long as you're loading in, but be quickl about it.

Fast forward to last night:

I pull up to the blue curb, put on my flashers, carry in the speaker, come out , and the same cops are writing me a ticket.

I say "Are You Kidding? They say "You can't park in a handicapped zone!" I say "You told me to last week when you wouldn't let me double park!" Cop "We never told you that! You would have done better in the Red curb!"
    Me: "So the red curb is ok for loading and unloading?"
    Cop "No. Basically, I am going to ticket you no matter where you park unless it is a legitimate space."

There is none. This is ludicrous, and bogus. Do I have a leg to stand on here?
    Help.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Some good reading re: getting tickets. Anecdotal and light hearted, but still informative.

Cockeyed: Traffic Court

3. P. Aaron