Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need some opinions on a new bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by j0z3r, Apr 9, 2005.

1. j0z3r

j0z3r

Apr 8, 2005
    Hey everybody, welcome to my first thread, enjoy your stay.

Well I am looking into purchasing a new bass, and have been browsing all over the internet reading reviews and such trying to get an idea of what I want to look into.

So far I am liking what I have read about Yamahas, they seem to be quality instruments for their price range, and that is a major factor for me, since I am a beginner and don't want to break the bank just yet on a bass.

I have also been looking into a couple of ESP models,namely the
    LTD Viper 104, and the F-104. Both entry level models, and both have pretty good reviews from what I have read.

Here is where all of you come in. I would like some opinions on which direction I should head in my quest to obtain a new bass. Not strictly according to my small list either, I am open to any suggestions you may have, because chances are about 99.9% of you know more about bass guitars than I do. I am also relying on that .1% to add comic relief to this post, so don't be shy.

Thanks all.

2. Hey j0z3r

Do you have any previous experience with the bass at this point? Is it you first bass or a first "upgrade"? Also, what's your budget? You said you were a beginner so I would like to find out where you stand before offering any advice.

3. j0z3r

j0z3r

Apr 8, 2005
    I have a piece of garbage that is mainly useless to me,so this would be my first upgrade.

I am most definately a beginner, though I have kinda messed around with getting my fingers used to the movements trying to play simple things from tabs and such, that is about all I have really picked up, so maybe I am half a step above someone who only just now has picked up a bass.