Need some opinions, please.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Comakazi, Jun 18, 2001.

1. Comakazi

May 3, 2001
    Midwest US
    I just wanted to get some opinions on things if I may. I'm considering taking further steps to broaden my musical carreer. And I wanted to ask what you guys think. I'm looking to going to Jeff's Player's School but, you know, the thing is what steps would be good for me to take after that? I've been playing for about 12 years now, my ear is good but I lack in my theory, hence my thinking about going to Jeff's school. But what should I do after that? All the bands I've been in have fallen apart, and I'm really wanting to get out on my own. I would love to get session work, what do you think would be the best steps I could take?
    I guess the thing that really worries me is that there all the horror stories of how you can't make a living at music, etc...
    It seems like a daunting process and I wanted to get som other's opinions. Thanks.
  2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

If you do go to Jeff Berlin's school, you may find the answer you seek about your future involvement in music right there, because you will immediately have many contacts in the industry.

As for being in many bands that break up, don't let that discourage you. You may be in many more before you find one that clicks. Or you may decide to be an independent musician who goes from band to band and gig to gig as a "sideman."

Session work can be tough to break in, but if you allow yourself the years to get experience and to make a name for yourself, knowing it will take a long time, then go for it.

In Nashville, even fabulously talented and skilled players have a tough time breaking in the session scene, and often start out playing demos, not final sessions. Only the most well known, reliable, and established bassists make the "first call" list of session players.