Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

need some opinions

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by wotnwhy, Mar 8, 2003.

1. ok, it was my birthday yesterday (the 7th) and, in conjunction with money i've already saved, birthday money and some college grant money, i've managed to scrape together about 200/250 quid (U.K. pounds). ok, i know thats not a HUGE amount considering i've been saving for about a year. but i am a student ;)

now then, i was originally going to spend the money on an acoustic bass. but know i'm having second thoughts about it. not because i think i'll get bored of it or anything, but because i've been thinging what else i could do with the money, such as:

uprgrade the electronics on one, or both, of my basses.
    add a peizo pickup to my bass.
    get a nice multi effects unit, or a couple of single effects.

so, what do you think? get the acoustic, or get some new toys?

Tom

2. jondog

jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    You type really well for someone who is only 7! :D

I would get the effects, but that's because I like to make unusual sounds. Go w/ singles. The other 2 options would be good if you don't like your current tone.

3. one of the reasons i'm having trouble making a desicion is, i keep arguing with myself. eg.

well i'm not happy with the electronics on my fretless. it's a budget bass and the pickups and electronics are pretty poor. but i don't really play the fretless that much, so it would be a waste of money upgrading it. but one of the reasons i don't play it that much is it doesn't have that much MWAH! and i might be able to get a better tone with better pickups (it's not bad tecnique, i've played better fretless' and i can get MWAH! out of them), but if i do upgrade and still don't get the tone i've wasted my money.