Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need Some Suggestions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dox, Aug 18, 2000.

1. Dox

Dox

Aug 17, 2000
    Millville, New Jersey
    I want to get a new bass. I basically have a beginner Epiphone. It doesn't havea good sound when I try to slap (which I am still learning). Also after a month or two dead spots seem to appear on random frets each time. My guess is teh strings are getting too dirty. Some I have some questions.

I wanna get a 5-string bass cause a lot of the bands I like play five strings. The ideal bass in my mind right now would be a baby blue 5-string Fender American Deluxe Jazz bass. The chances of me finding it are hard. I don't want to order it cause I want to play it first. But I wanna know how are most Fender 5-strings? Another question is which are a good 5-string with a nice thick sound. My main goal is to get a bass that has a thick dreaery sound to it. I wanna try and match the sound of Terence "Geezer" Butler of Black Sabbath and G//Z/R. I know he uses a french made Viagria (sp?)... Like the old guy pill.... So any suggestions on a Black Sabbath sounding bass?

2. gmstudio99

gmstudio99

Mar 11, 2000
    Cleveland, OH
    I see you're playing through a "19 Watt Epiphone Amp"...I might suggest two things for an immediate change of sound: new strings and a beefier amp.

There are dozens of threads here on 5 string basses. Many will say that "Fender has floppy B strings", but I'll tell you my MIM Jazz Deluxe 5 has one of the tightest, warmest B's around.

-GM

3. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
  4. Dox

Dox

Aug 17, 2000
    Millville, New Jersey