Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need some tattoo help please - urgent.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Jun 4, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I finally got the tattoo I've been carrying around in my wallet for three months inkied into my wrist. Didn't plan it, it just kinda happened cuz I was passing by an artist I trusts place after dinner tonight and she just happened to be there. It was as spontaneous as something like this could be after thinking about it for months.

Anyhow - even though I have 2 other tattoos, my memory sucks and I completely forgot how I took care of them. She gave me the care sheet but I didn't read it till I just got home now. It says to wash it off after about 4 or 5 hrs, cover it with A&D ointment, and rebandage it with saran wrap. I don't remember doing that with my other ones, but I trust her. Only problem is, I didnt' buy any any A&D ointment, it's 12:30AM, I don't know where there's an open pharmacy and I don't feel like going out hunting one down. If I have to I will cuz I want this thing to heal nicely - it's on my writs.

My question - can I wash it, douse it in vitamin E oil, cover it with saran wrap, and deal with the proper maintenance procedures tomorrow? I have Vitamin E oil, which is basically safflower oil and vitaming E sitting in front of me. It would be soooo convenient. Lemme know ASAP cause if i gotta hit the road I want to do it now. Thanks.

Will post pics when the swelling goes down. I hate the way puffy tattoos look.

2. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    AFAIK, it would be ok to get the ointment in the AM, just leaving the bandage on all night.

someone correct me if I'm wrong.

3. Joe Nerve